First Stellar Observation

Tonight, after coming home from a guitar lesson/art night over at a friends house I pulled into the driveway, got out of the car, looked up and realized I had a truly gorgeous sky to look at.  So I promptly went into the house, grabbed my “Galileo telescope” and rushed back out on to the deck.

Of course I’m still hand holding this thing instead of putting it on a tripod (I just haven’t had the time to get a new one yet), but even so, I’ve gotten better at aiming and hand holding it.  As such I was able to get a look at a star.  A bit of jumping around and choosing various targets to try and focus on based on what I could brace myself against and I ended up getting a magnified look at the star Kaus Media in the constellation of Sagittarius.  Assuming, that is, that I’ve used this handy little star map application on my phone correctly.  Yes, relying on some modern technology to help me understand more ancient technology.  I definitely do not have a problem with that.

So, briefly, Sagittarius is generally associated with Bellerophon in Greek mythology, one of the greatest monster slayers of mythology who was credited with slaying the Chimera.  Also associated with Zeus and Thor from their respective mythologies.  Sagittarius is generally depicted as a Centaur Archer.

In the constellation of Sagittarius Kaus Media is one of the stars which makes up the arrow in the bow held by the figure.  It is approximately 305 light years away.

Although I don’t think Galileo would have known that last bit.

About santiagosgrimoire

Magician, Entertainer, Actor, Cook, Leather Worker, Artist and generally very busy.

Posted on August 8, 2012, in Telescope and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

