Enter the lair of Madam Fortuna and see your future!

One of the most important features of any carnival in my opinion is that of the fortune teller.

And the fortune telling machine is one of those carnival curiosities that stand out for me.  I remember going to carnivals, arcades, the Santa Cruz Boardwalk and Disneyland, finding a fortune telling machine and plunking the requisite quarters in order to reveal my future.  And sometimes the future of whatever girlfriend I happened to have with me while I was there.

What can I say, the idea of knowing we’d be together forever is appealing, even if we only dated for a few months at a time.

Of course my favorite room in the Haunted Mansion at Disneyland is the fortune tellers room with the crystal ball and the witches head inside calling out to the spirits to reveal themselves and reveal the future.  Well, okay, my second favorite room; my first being the dining hall with all the dancing ghosts because that is a large recreation of a fantastic historical illusion.

Nevertheless, the fortune teller is an important figure in a carnival and there is absolutely no way I’m going to neglect having one in mine.  Of course I’ll have to bypass my beloved Madam Fortuna and Zoltar machines in favor of the gypsy fortune teller we all know and love.

Or do I?

I suppose I might be able to justify the creation (eventually) of a automata fortune teller, but it seems that a bit of schooling has come my way in the form of a new blog post from my apprentice about the history and origin of the name of  “fortune teller.”

So, dear reader, I direct you to her comments and considerations of the name “fortune teller” as she asks the question “What’s in a name?”

About santiagosgrimoire

Magician, Entertainer, Actor, Cook, Leather Worker, Artist and generally very busy.

Posted on August 29, 2012, in Carnival, SCA and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Something for your research:

    “…the celebrations to mark the return of Henry V and his wife Katherine to London in 1421, and here among the ‘triumphal arches and castles, bands of singing boys and maidens, fountains running with wine’ there were ‘giants of huge stature ingeniously constructed to bow at the right moment, lions which could roll their eyes and make other appropriate gestures’.”

    English Pageantry: And Historical Outline by Robert Withington

  2. santiagosgrimoire

    Cool image of another fortune teller in a box!

Leave a Reply

