Was Galileo a Night Owl?

This morning I woke up like I usually do on a weekday at about 5:30 am.  Actually a little before that since I remember listening to the sound of the shower and waiting for my alarm to go off, wondering what song it would play.

I got up, took a shower, got dressed, packed my lunch and stepped out into the cold morning air.  It’s that time of year when the time change hasn’t occurred yet and the morning sky is only just starting to promise to lighten.

I looked up.

Over my head the sky was a clear and cold deep blue.  Only the brightest of stars remained visible.  The moon a perfect crescent and Venus shining brightly in the sky all looked back at me.

And, burdened as I was with my usual bags to take to work, my car keys in my hand, I stood there for a moment and appreciated the beauty of it all.  I wanted to run back in to the house and grab my telescope but I knew I didn’t have the time for it.

My wife came out to get into her truck.  She asked what I was doing and I told her.

She looked with me for a few moments and then I muttered “F*ck.  If I’m going to try and do these Galileo observations I’m going to have to start getting up even earlier.”

She laughed and said “Yup.”

Was Galileo a night owl?  Was he a REALLY early morning person?  I don’t know.

All I know is this –

I’m not.

About santiagosgrimoire

Magician, Entertainer, Actor, Cook, Leather Worker, Artist and generally very busy.

Posted on September 10, 2012, in Science, Telescope and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

