It’s always been about the physics.

I used to play with Yo-Yo’s when I was a kid, like a lot kids.  Sitting in my chair here at home I have one within arms reach right now.

I was never particular good with one only being able to do basic throws, sleeping, walking the dog and around the world.  That was about it.  I certainly would have liked to have been able to do more and I practiced a lot when I was a kid, but I never got any further then that.

That guy on the plate?  He’s from Ancient Greece, about 500 BCE and he’s playing with a Yo-Yo.  So they’ve been around for a long time. But I haven’t had nearly that much time to practice.

But I think maybe, just maybe, if I had the advantage of a zero gravity environment I might be able to do some pretty cool stuff.

Certainly this guy is doing some cool stuff.

About santiagosgrimoire

Magician, Entertainer, Actor, Cook, Leather Worker, Artist and generally very busy.

Posted on September 13, 2012, in Carnival, Science and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. There was some supposition that I read about ages ago that yo-yo’s were originally used for a type of hunting in some areas. Bonking rabbits and such. I’m glad to see that they were around in ancient Greece as an amusement.

    Sort of partial to yo-yo’s myself. *smile*

Leave a Reply

