A First Event Outing With The Telescope

First, let me apologize for being silent the past week or so. It has been very busy for me at my job and I have been anxious to get back to my writing.

Also, I’ve been stressed out getting ready for this weekend as I am the autocrat of Mists Coronet. (For my non-SCA readers that simply means that a weekend long medieval fair type event is taking place and I’m the guy in charge of the whole shindig.)

However, I realized that I have a wonderful opportunity this weekend as well.

We will be up in the hills, camping, away from city lights on a a couple of nights moving into a full moon! So, I’m bringing my Galileo telescope prototype with me to the event.

I haven’t had the opportunity to put buckles on the leather harness I was going to use to mount it on my tripod, but that is more critical for stellar observations. Lining up to observe the moon is very doable just hand holding the telescope.

So, for those of you who will be at the event and are curious, please feel free to come on by and take a look at the prototype. In the evening I’ll have it out and you can take a look through the prototype as well.

I promise you it’s a very cool sort of experience.

ps – My beard is nowhere near as big as Galileo’s.

About santiagosgrimoire

Magician, Entertainer, Actor, Cook, Leather Worker, Artist and generally very busy.

Posted on September 28, 2012, in SCA, Science, Telescope and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Well, you know I’ll be there and pretty much first in line to see how well it works.

Leave a Reply

