Spidora! Half Woman! Half Spider! All Creepy!

Given as we are fast approaching Halloween, my absolutely favorite holiday of the year, I thought it might be fun to post a few things of I always loved from Carnival Haunted Houses in particular.  I’m not sure how many of these I’ll be able to bring to you before Halloween is upon us but I promise you’ll get some fun stuff no matter what.

So the first thing I’m thinking of to share with you is a really fun sideshow piece called “Spidora!”

Spidora is a giant spider with the head of a woman.  She talks, she answers your questions and generally speaking she’s absolutely fascinating and terrifying to a six or eight year old kid like me who hates spiders but also has to just know what the heck is going on.

Sadly, however, I have to say that when I first saw her it wasn’t under the ideal sideshow conditions.  She wasn’t presented to me as a real creature but simply as a carnival illusion and photo opportunity much like the things you’ll find in amusement parks now where you can crawl inside or stick your head through and have your picture taken.

That’s right, I got to be inside the contraption and become a giant spider.  Which may or may not have scared me for life, I’m not sure.

Still, even after having climbed into the thing I wasn’t sure how it worked to make it look like my head was on the body of this giant spider.  I poked around it after I got out and tried to figure it out.  Unfortunately the clip below doesn’t really show you how good an illusion it really is.  Trust me when I say that you can walk right up next to this thing look underneath the spider body and not see how a persons head is coming out of it.  Not unless you really know absolutely what you are looking for.

But these days I really wish I had been presented the opportunity to see Spidora as she was meant to be seen, inside a Ten-In-One (a sideshow tent housing ten attractions under one roof) or as one of the oddities as presented in the clip below.

I have plans now.  No, I mean, blueprints.  Actual plans for how to build this wonderful sideshow attraction.  Someday I hope that I can.

About santiagosgrimoire

Magician, Entertainer, Actor, Cook, Leather Worker, Artist and generally very busy.

Posted on October 19, 2012, in Carnival, Hoax, Magic - Modern and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

