The Impending Rise of The Phoenix

phoenix_014Yes, yes, I know.  I haven’t posted in a while.  Again.

I have been busy.  I just got back from a weekend in Caid.  Every weekend has been booked up with one thing or another for a long time and I’ve been pushing towards the final goal of getting the Carnival up and running.

This is it.  It’s time.  This coming weekend is Kingdom A&S and we’ll be putting on the first show.  Gods what a lot of work this has been.

As with anything the grand and glorious plans one has up front have to be altered along the way to accommodate what we can do.  People are all volunteering their time and their efforts.  You have to be grateful for that.

So for this first outing I was hoping to have a new sunshade.  That didn’t happen.  I had started putting together a Kickstarter Campaign but after being distracted by something else when I came back to it I realized I wouldn’t get it done and back before the deadline of when I’d need to order the new sunshade and have it in hand for the event.

Nevertheless there will be a new sunshade eventually.  Just not for this event.

I was also hoping to have a couple of carnival games ready to go for the first outing but that didn’t happen either.  This to is okay, I was trying to schedule time with my game builder to help and I just never got organized enough to do it.

I’m a pretty busy guy and didn’t have as much bandwidth and just plain old steam to add the extra time into my schedule.  Work had been a particular problematic blocker, so that pretty well took the wind out of my sails.

But we will have some great stuff!  Absolutely.

We’ll have three acts (The Dancing Bear cancelled), a bardic circle and a fortune teller.

I will be performing a small magic show.  There will be a story performed by one of our wonderful storytellers and there will be a puppet show.  Of course some fun is being had with the program.

Santiago would like you to know that all the magic you are about to see has been achieved using camera tricks and video effects.  What you are seeing live is nothing like what you see on the screen.  He has achieved this by years of study into the history of magic and then he messed with it because really, who was going to stop him?

Yes, magic of this type is historical.  Yes, Santiago achieved his Laurel for the study and practice of this type of magic.  Yes, Santiago has real powers too, he just doesn’t like to use them.

You’ll have to come to the show to get the rest.

So here we are.  The first performance of The Carnival of The Phoenix.  Not a bad little showing for our first time out.
Afterwards, we’ll debrief, discuss what worked, what didn’t and decide where to go next.  I’m considering the idea of offering up a performance of some kind for The Baroness’ Masked Ball in November.

Onward, ever onward.

About santiagosgrimoire

Magician, Entertainer, Actor, Cook, Leather Worker, Artist and generally very busy.

Posted on June 4, 2013, in Carnival, Entertainment, Event, SCA and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

