Phoenix Born in Fires of A&S

phoenix_014

Murphy and I have never gotten along all that well.  I have learned over the years that if I plan something the way most people do then it will likely fail.  But if I plan with enough contingencies and backup plans in place then I can usually get something close to what I wanted.

Murphy hit hard this time.  Two people completely out.  A third suffering from the severe and completely unexpected heatwave.  A backup person also falling out from the heat.  It was, indeed, enough to make me seriously consider dropping the whole thing.

But…..

But the show must go on.

And it did.  Several adjustments, stepped up efforts from those who remained, an audience that was eager to be entertained and a rally from one of my heatwave sufferers and we had a Carnival.

IMG_0098The puppet show went first, an adjustment to the flow of things based on the fact that we rescheduled for a cooler part of the day and took into account that one of the puppeteers was young enough to be needing to go to bed at a reasonable hour.  It was amazingly good.  The puppet theater itself was beautiful.  The puppets were amazingly well designed and the story was fun and funny.  Our young puppeteer stole the show in my opinion.

Then I went on.  I stretched my act a bit to add more overall time in order to make up for the lost act.  This was not a problem in the least.

I admit, I was pretty nervous.  I didn’t need to be.  I got on stage and hit it from the word go.

I started with a different piece than I usually do, a poetic routine where I produce a rainbow streamer at the end, but I decided to go with it because it helped me reestablish a control over the ‘theater’ and put everyone back into the proper head space after the brief transition from one act to the next.  I followed up with a couple of my standards and ended with my two ring Linking Rings routine and the Siberian Chain Escape.

Between the two acts we managed to fill about half an hour which is what I would have expected anyway.  With three acts we would have been somewhere in the thirty to forty minute range.

IMG_0143After the acts were done my apprentice set up as the fortune teller and remained busy and running for the next couple of hours.  Clearly we’ll need more than one fortune teller for the future.   She did a fabulous job as I knew she would.  This is her thing of course so she gave it her all and truly amazed many people.

We also set up the fire pit, despite the heat, so that people could make s’mores which was part of what we had intended.

All in all it was an amazingly good showing despite the best efforts of Murphy.  At first I was extremely put out, but in hindsight I have to say that realizing that we successfully overcame such difficulties and still put on a show to be proud of is deeply satisfying.

IMG_0148

There will be more to come.  After the show was over I was asked by two different people to come and perform at their events.  I’m looking at a third date besides those and we know we’re going to be a part of the Market Faire event being done next year.

The Phoenix was born in a fiery hot Kingdom A&S.  The future will bring even more fun with it!

About santiagosgrimoire

Magician, Entertainer, Actor, Cook, Leather Worker, Artist and generally very busy.

Posted on June 11, 2013, in Carnival, Entertainment, Event, Gig, SCA, Show and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

